About Us

Dyfed-Powys Police safeguard people living, working and visiting the Counties of Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Pembrokeshire and Powys. It has a population of over 488,000, that is significantly boosted with tourists each year, and covers a land mass of over half of Wales.

The Force was formed in 1968 with the merger of the four County Constabularies. Geographically it is the largest police force in England and Wales, it has over 350 miles of coastline, many remote rural communities along with a number of relatively small centres of population that include Aberystwyth, Cardigan, Haverfordwest, Carmarthen and Brecon. The area stretches from St David’s in the West across to Crickhowell in the East, up to Welshpool and Machynlleth in the North.

Our vision is 'Safeguarding Communities' and our overall ethos is to tailor the service we provide, with our partner organisations, to the local needs of our communities.