09 Apr 2019

The Pembrokeshire Divisional Awards Ceremony was held at the De Valence Pavilion, Upper Frog Street, Tenby on Friday 15th March 2019.

The event celebrated the exceptional effort and achievement given on a daily basis, during 2018, by officer’s, support staff and volunteers.

Officers and staff were awarded for displays of bravery, professionalism and commitment to safeguarding the communities they serve.

The categories and the winners are listed below

Police Officer of the Year Award

PC 1114 Robert Garland

Detective of the Year Award

DC 1164 Kelly Rowlands

Student Officer of the Year Award

PC 1122 Emma Robertson

Police Staff of the Year Award

PCSO 8114 Robert John

Special Constabulary Award

S/Sgt 7035 Beth Thomas

Volunteer of the Year Award

Milford Haven Community Speed Watch Team

Best All Round Volunteer Cadet Award

Cadet Morgan Evans

Leader of the Year Award

PCSO 8028 Andrew Griffiths and PCSO 8181 Paul Emmanuel

Bravery Award

PC 416 Jessica Lawrence

Life Saving Award


PC 63 Eve Rees, PC 1125 Rhys Howells, PC 238 Rachel Finnan, PC 373 Samnang Picton-Evans, PS 263 Teleri Bowen, PC 535 Paul Smyth, PC 75 Dyfed Jones, PC 1000 Daniel Thomas

We Care Award

PS 968 Terri Harrison and PC 290 Emma Smyth

Partnership Award

Rhian Mannings, 2 Wish upon a Star

Investigation of the Year Award

DC 1006 Lisa Roberts

Team of the Year Award

Investigation Support Unit

Special Recognition Award

Retired Inspector Aled Davies, Retired Chief Superintendent Steve Matchett, Retired Superintendent Ian John.

Police and Crime Commissioner Dafydd Llywelyn and Mrs Rhian Manning

Police and Crime Commissioner Dafydd Llywelyn and Mrs Rhian Manning


Police and Crime Commissioner Dafydd Llywelyn said

“It is important that we recognise the hard work of officers, staff, volunteers and partners and we mustn’t forget the role that families and support networks play in providing help and assistance to officers and staff during difficult times.

I am pleased to announce that I have made a charitable donation to the “2 Wish upon a Star” charity, whose founder, Mrs Rhian Manning, deservedly won the Partnership Award. The charity was set up following the sudden and tragic death of her son and husband and provides bereavement support for families who have suddenly and tragically lost a child or young adult.

“I would like to thank Rhian for bringing the charity’s services to Pembrokeshire and supporting our staff in Dyfed-Powys Police in their response to such tragic cases. Rhian is an absolute inspiration and this award recognises the significant contribution she has made to our staff and our communities.”

Superintendent Ross Evans said: “I was honoured to host the Pembrokeshire Divisional Award Ceremony which recognised the excellent work done by police officers, police staff, Specials, Volunteers and Cadets. I am continually impressed with the work that our staff carry out every day. They make a real difference to people’s lives and go the extra mile to make sure that our community remains not only the most beautiful, but also the safest place in the UK.

“I would like to especially thank Rachel Treadaway-Williams for being our compere on the evening and Nation Broadcasting, home of Radio Pembrokeshire, who sponsored the ceremony.

“Organising an event like this takes a lot of time and effort and I would like to thank Mrs Charlies Marcham and Mr Nigel Lewis for ensuring that the evening ran smoothly.

“We were fortunate to have the Carmarthen Ukeleles and the Bella Voce Choir providing entertainment during the evening. Thank you very much."